How it Works

Re:Sound works with the Copyright Board of Canada, a federal tribunal, to establish royalty rates on behalf of artists and record companies for the different ways sound recordings are used in Canada. Rates are established through direct discussions with those stakeholders who use music, or through hearings before the Copyright Board, and are based on the value of the music to the particular use.

How Tariffs Are Certified

1 / 8

1

Tariff Application

2

Publication of Tariff Application

3

Interventions / Objections

4

Preparation For Hearing

5

Hearing

6

Agreement / Settlement

7

Additional Questions

8

Decision

Tariff Application

Re:Sound submits a tariff proposal to the Copyright Board by March 31st of the year preceding when the tariff is set to begin.

Publication

The tariff application is published in the Canada Gazette, which provides the official notice to all prospective users who might want to object or participate in the proceedings to certify the tariff.

Interventions / Objections

Objectors have 60 days from the date of publication to submit their objection. Prospective users may be allowed to participate in the tariff process beyond 60 days by requesting to intervene.

Preparation For Hearing

It takes approximately one year to prepare for a hearing in front of the Copyright Board. This includes exchanging documents, interrogatories, obtaining expert evidence, filing cases, and more.

Hearing

Hearings are open to the public, and interested parties and objectors are given an opportunity to file their written responses or present arguments and evidence in favour of, or against a proposed tariff. Re:Sound files economic evidence to support our tariff rate proposals, and alternative proposals are often presented by the Objectors. Rate determinations consider many factors, including the financial realities of the relevant industry. Hearings typically last one to two weeks.

Agreement / Settlement

Whenever possible, Re:Sound works with Objectors to try to agree on mutually-acceptable tariff terms, which are then jointly presented to the Copyright Board for certification. Under this process, a full hearing is typically not required. The Board may have questions for the parties, which are usually answered in writing. This avoids the time and expense of a full hearing, and parties can work collaboratively on a tariff that addresses the needs of both rights holders and the industry it applies to.

Additional Questions

After the hearing or in response to a settlement proposal, the Board may have questions for the participants, or there may be legal issues in dispute, which are addressed in this phase.

Decision

Adjudicating a tariff can be lengthy, especially for new tariffs looking to cover a new use of music for the first time. It can often take 4-5 years for a rate certification after Re:Sound makes its application. All Re:Sound tariffs must be approved and certified by the Copyright Board regardless of whether they went through the hearing or settlement process.  For tariff renewals, the Copyright Act of Canada allows Re:Sound to continue to collect under the existing rates until a new tariff is proposed or certified.  

1 / 8

Tariffs

These licenses allow broadcasters, business owners, etc. to use millions of tracks without needing to obtain clearance on a track-by-track basis, for the specific ways they use music.

Learn more below

Tariff 1 - Broadcasting

Re:Sound issues licenses to all Canadian commercial radio stations (AM and FM radio) and the CBC.


1A: Commercial radio stations

1C: CBC


Tariff 2 - Pay Audio

Applies to commercial-free music programming that’s been made available by direct-to-home satellite distribution and major cable distributors across Canada.


Tariff 3 - Background Music

Applies to the use of music in businesses such as retail stores, bars and restaurants.  This tariff applies to businesses that use music and also to the companies that supply background music.


A: Background Music Suppliers 

B: Use of Background Music


Tariff 4 - Satellite Radio

Applies to multi-channel subscription satellite radio services (such as SiriusXM Canada).


Tariff 5 - Live Events

This tariff can apply to a wide range of establishments, including hotels, bars, restaurants, banquet halls, golf and country clubs, municipalities, festivals, or fairs who use sound recordings to accompany live events. It is subdivided into many categories, including:


A: Live Entertainment 

B: Receptions, Conventions, Assemblies, Fashion Shows 

C: Karaoke 

D: Festivals, Exhibitions and Fairs 

E: Circuses, Ice Shows, Fireworks, and Similar Events 

F: Parades 

G: Parks, Streets, and Other Public Areas 

H: Sporting Events 

I: Comedy and Magic Shows 

J: Concerts 

K: Theatrical, Dance, and Other Similar Live Performances


Tariff 6 - Dance and Fitness

This tariff applies to the use of music for dance and fitness.  It can apply to gyms, dance schools, nightclubs and adult entertainment venues.


A: Dance 

B: Fitness Classes 

C: Adult Entertainment


Tariff 8 - Music Streaming

Covers non-commercial and commercial webcasters. If listeners have no control over the content of the service, it is referred to as non-interactive. Whereas, if the listener has some control, it is referred to as semi-interactive. Tariff 8 doesn’t apply to podcasts or fully interactive services such as on-demand streams or downloads.


*Tariffs 7 and 9 were previously proposed to the Copyright Board of Canada but were not certified.

To improve the visitor experience on our website, the site uses cookies. However, you do not have to accept any cookies to access or search our website. However, there may be minimal loss of functionality if you have disabled or deleted all cookies. Please consult your browser settings (and browser plugins) which allow you to configure whether and how you receive cookies. Read our Cookie Policy

Comment ça marche

Ré:Sonne collabore avec la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada, un tribunal fédéral, pour établir les taux de redevances au nom des artistes et des maisons de disques pour les différentes utilisations d’enregistrements sonores. Les taux sont établis au moyen de discussions directes avec les parties prenantes qui utilisent de la musique ou par des délibérations avec la Commission du droit d’auteur et sont basés sur la valeur de la musique à l’usage particulier.

Comment les tarifs sont homologués

1 / 8

1

Application de tarifs

2

Publication de la demande de tarif

3

Interventions / contestations

4

Préparation de l'audience

5

Audience

6

Entente/règlement

7

Questions supplémentaires

8

Décision

Demande de tarif

Ré:Sonne soumet un proposition de tarif à la Commission du droit d’auteur au plus tard le 31 mars de l'annee precedant celle ou le tarif doit entrer en vigueur.

Publication de la demande de tarif

De tarifs est publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, qui donne un avis officiel à tous les utilisateurs potentiels qui pourront vouloir opposer le tarif ou participer aux délibérations pour certifier le tarif.

Interventions / contestations

Les opposants peuvent soumettre leur opposition dans les 60 jours suivants la date de publication. Les utilisateurs potentiels peuvent participer au processus de tarif après les 60 jours en demandant d’intervenir.

Préparation de l'audience

Il faut environ un an pour se préparer aux l'audience avec la Commission du droit d’auteur. Ceci inclut l’échange de documents, les interrogatoires, l’obtention des preuves, le dépôt de requêtes et autres.

Audience

Les délibérations sont ouvertes au public et les parties intéressées et les opposants ont l'occasion de soumettre leurs réponses écrites ou présenter des arguments favorables ou non au tarif. Ré:Sonne soumet des preuves économiques pour soutenir nos propositions de tarif, et des propositions de remplacement sont souvent présentées par les opposants. La détermination des taux peur tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs, y compris les réalités financières de l'industrie pertinente; les délibérations durent souvent une ou deux semaines.

Entente/règlement

Lorsque possible, Ré:Sonne collabore avec les opposants pour se convenir des modalités de tarifs acceptables, qui sont ensuite conjointement présentées à la Commission du droit d’auteur pour homologue. Dans le cadre de ce processus, une délibération entière n’est pas requise. La Commission peut poser des questions aux parties, auxquelles on répond par écrit. Ceci évite le temps et les dépenses d’une délibération entière et les parties peuvent collaborer pour déterminer un tarif qui répond aux besoins des titulaires de droit d’auteur et de l’industrie touchée.

Questions supplémentaires

Après les délibérations ou en réponse à une proposition de règlement, la Commission peut poser des questions aux participants ou il peut y avoir des enjeux légaux en dispute; ils sont traités à cette étape.

Décision 

La justification du tarif établi peut être longue, surtout pour les nouveaux tarifs qui traitent d’une nouvelle utilisation de musique. La homologue d’un taux peut prendre 4 à 5 ans suivant la demande par Ré:Sonne. Tous les tarifs de Ré:Sonne doivent être approuvés et homologués par la Commission du droit d’auteur, peu importe le processus de délibération ou de règlement. En ce qui concerne les renouvellements de tarifs — Ré:Sonne continu à recueillir les taux actuels jusqu’à la homologue ou proposition d’un nouveau tarif.

1 / 8

Tarifs

Ces licences permettent aux radiodiffuseurs, aux propriétaires d’entreprises,etc., d’utiliser des millions de pièces sans obtenir la permission pour chacune selon l’utilisation de celles-ci.

En apprendre plus ci-dessous

Tarif 1 - Radiodiffusion

Ré:Sonne émet des licences à toutes les stations de radio commerciales canadiennes (AM et FM) et la SRC.


1A : Radio Commerciale

1C : SRC


Tarif 2 - Services sonores payants

S’applique aux programmes musicaux sans annonces qui sont disponibles par distribution satellite et câblodistributeurs importants partout au Canada.


Tarif 3 - Musique de fond

S’applique à l’utilisation de musique dans les entreprises, comme les magasins de détail et les restaurants. Ce tarif s’applique aux entreprises qui utilisent de la musique et aux compagnies qui fournissent de la musique de fond. 


A : Fournisseurs de musique de fond

B : Utilisation de musique de fond


Tarif 4 - Service de radio satellitaire

S’applique aux abonnements de services de radio satellitaire à multicanaux (comme SiriusXM Canada).


Tarif 5 - Événements en direct

Ce tarif s’applique à une variété d’établissements, y compris les hôtels, les bars, les restaurants, les salles de réception, les clubs de golf, les municipalités, les festivals ou les fêtes foraines, qui utilisent des enregistrements sonores pour accompagner les événements en direct. Ce tarif est divisé en plusieurs catégories, y compris :


A : Divertissement en direct

B : Réceptions, congrès, assemblées, défilés de mode

C : Karaoke

D : Festivals, expositions et fêtes foraines

E : Cirques, spectacles sur glace, feux d’artifice et événements semblables

F : Parades

G : Parcs, rues et autres milieux publics

H : Événements sportifs

I : Spectacles d’humoristes et de magiciens

J : Concerts

K : Théâtre, danse et autres interprétations en direct semblables


Tarif 6 - Danse et Activités Physiques

Ce tarif s’applique à l’utilisation de la musique pour la danse et les activités physiques. Il s’applique aux salles d’entraînement, aux écoles de danse, aux discothèques et aux salles de spectacles pour adultes. 


A : Danse 

B : Cours de conditionnement physique 

C : Divertissement pour adultes


Tarif 8 — Diffusion en continu

Traite des webdiffuseurs commerciaux et non commerciaux. Si les auditeurs ne peuvent pas contrôler le contenu du service, c’est un programme non interactif. Si l’auditeur a quelques contrôles, c’est un service semi-interactif. Le tarif 8 ne s’applique pas aux balados ou aux services entièrement interactifs, comme les diffusions sur demande ou les téléchargements.


*Les tarifs 7 et 9 ont été proposés à la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada, mais ne sont pas certifiés.

To improve the visitor experience on our website, the site uses cookies. However, you do not have to accept any cookies to access or search our website. However, there may be minimal loss of functionality if you have disabled or deleted all cookies. Please consult your browser settings (and browser plugins) which allow you to configure whether and how you receive cookies. Read our Cookie Policy