About Re:Sound

Re:Sound is the not-for-profit music licensing company dedicated to obtaining fair compensation for artists and record companies for their performance rights. It’s our job to ensure music creators are properly compensated for the value they provide to businesses, such as retail stores, restaurants, gyms, and broadcasters.

In 2017, Re:Sound celebrated its 20th year. We’re excited to share our accomplishments from not only the past year, but the previous two decades.

Ian MacKay

President

President's Message

The past year at Re:Sound was marked by significant progress on a number of fronts as well as some important milestones.

We kicked off our 20th anniversary year with the launch of our new Strategic Plan, which will position Re:Sound for success in the next 3 years and beyond.  Revenue growth continued, with 2017 revenues coming in at $53.4 million, 16% higher than 2016.  And we continued to live our core value of “Dynamic”, partnering in innovative projects here in Canada with Bell Media, SOCAN, Music Canada, CONNECT and others, as well as internationally with organisations like DDEX and IFPI.

Read More


In 2017, we celebrated our 20th anniversary.  These have been years of monumental change within the music industry and Re:Sound has grown from a two-person operation in an office above a vacuum cleaner shop to a sophisticated forward-thinking organisation that advocates passionately on behalf of artists and sound recording rights holders, and works tirelessly to ensure that as much as possible of every dollar gets to them as possible through the smart use of data, through innovation and through cutting edge partnerships.  Standing still is not an option – we owe it to the rights holders to keep driving things forward.


In 2017, projects included work with CONNECT to improve data flow from and on behalf of major and independent labels, work with Music Canada and Bell Media to ensure the best data (including ISRC codes) is reported back by radio stations and work with SOCAN on a pilot portal for joint licensing of music users.


Corporate governance has been a significant focus over the last year and will continue to be so in the future.  Re:Sound’s inaugural independent Chair, Peter Steinmetz, completed his term in 2017, and we thank him for his strong leadership at a pivotal time.  In late 2017, Anthony Ariganello joined as our new Independent Chair, as we embark on our new Strategic Plan. We also welcomed two new member organisations in 2017 – Warner and Universal (Sony having joined in late 2016).  We look forward to working with all of our other member organisations, and all stakeholders, in continuing to move things forward.


Finally, I was very proud of the team here at Re:Sound, who continue to meet and overcome obstacles, and find opportunities.  In 2017, the employee-driven Re:Wind fundraiser raised $32,000 for the Unison Benevolent Fund. 

Standing Still is not an option - we owe it to the rights holders to keep driving things forward.

- Ian MacKay

What We Do

Re:Sound is the not-for-profit music licensing company dedicated to obtaining fair compensation for artists and record companies for their performance rights. It’s our job to ensure music creators are properly compensated for the value they provide to businesses, such as retail stores, restaurants, gyms, and broadcasters.

We strive to support musicians and labels by building partnerships, advocacy, and finding efficiencies to ensure that as much money as possible ends up in the pockets of music creators to help build a strong and prosperous music industry in Canada. We do this across four core areas*.

Re:Sound is also a member of the Canadian Private Copying Collective (CPCC) which was created to receive private copying levies from the manufacturers and importers of blank recording media.

*Four core areas:

  1. Advocating on behalf of music creators
  2. Distributing royalties
  3. Licensing businesses to use music
  4. International partnerships

Our organisation would not exist without artists and makers of music; they are at the core of everything we do, and the inspiration for always achieving more.

Re:Sound Core Values

Fair:

We will advocate for what’s fair for  musicians and labels—fair treatment and fair  compensation. We provide services to rights  holders on a fair and equal basis. We ensure  fair treatment for all employees.

Efficient:

We will continually strive to be better, be more productive, and to improve the way we do things. We will develop best practices of our own and adopt best practices from elsewhere — always looking for the best way forward.

Performer & Maker Centered:

Our organisation would not exist without the artists and makers of music; they are at the core of everything we do, and the inspiration for always achieving more. We must always act in their best interests.

Transparent:

We will always be open, honest, aboveboard, and trustworthy. We will make information available to stakeholders appropriately and in a timely manner. We will uphold the trust  placed in us by rights holders.

Dynamic:

We are energized by what we do. We are  fully committed. We are in motion and not static or stagnant. We are progressive, flexible, and adaptive. We move ahead.

But how does it all work? Watch our new video here:

Play

To improve the visitor experience on our website, the site uses cookies. However, you do not have to accept any cookies to access or search our website. However, there may be minimal loss of functionality if you have disabled or deleted all cookies. Please consult your browser settings (and browser plugins) which allow you to configure whether and how you receive cookies. Read our Cookie Policy

À propos de Ré:Sonne

Ré:Sonne est la société à but non lucratif dédiée à obtenir une remuneration juste et équitable pour les artistes-interprètes et producteurs de disques pour leurs droits d'exécution. 


En 2017, Ré:Sonne a célébré son 20e anniversaire. Nous sommes heureux de partager non seulement nos réalisations de l’an dernier, mais aussi des deux décennies précédentes.

Ian MacKay,

Président

Message du président

​​​​​​​L’an passé, Ré:Sonne a réalisé un progrès considérable sur plusieurs fronts ainsi que plusieurs jalons importants. L’an passé, Ré:Sonne a réalisé un progrès considérable sur plusieurs fronts ainsi que plusieurs jalons importants. 

Nous avons débuté notre 20e anniversaire avec le lancement de notre nouveau Plan stratégique, qui favorisera le succès de Ré:Sonne au cours des trois prochaines années et au-delà. La croissance des recettes a continué, avec des revenus atteignant 53,4 millions de $ en 2017, soit une hausse de 16 % par rapport à 2016. Et nous avons respecté notre valeur fondamentale d’être «?dynamiques?», en établissant un partenariat dans des projets novateurs ici au Canada avec Bell Média, SOCAN, Music Canada, CONNECT et d’autres, ainsi qu’à l’échelle internationale avec des organisations comme DDEX et IFPI.

En lire plus


En 2017, nos projets ont inclus une collaboration avec CONNECT Music Licensing pour améliorer le flux de données des producteurs importants et indépendants ainsi qu’au nom de ceux-ci, une collaboration avec Music Canada et Bell Média pour s’assurer que les meilleures données (y compris les codes de l’ISRC) sont signalées par les stations de radio, et une collaboration avec SOCAN pour créer un portail pilote pour l’autorisation commune des utilisateurs de musique.


La gouvernance d’entreprise a été un point focal au cours de l’année dernière et le sera à l’avenir. Le président indépendant inaugural de Ré:Sonne, Peter Steinmetz, a terminé son mandat en 2017, et nous lui remercions pour sa direction solide pendant une période décisive. Anthony Ariganello s’est joint comme nouveau président indépendant alors que nous entamons notre nouveau plan stratégique. Nous avons accueilli deux nouvelles organisations membres en 2017, Warner et Universal (Sony ayant adhéré en fin 2016). Nous sommes heureux de travailler avec toutes les autres organisations membres et parties prenantes pour aller de l’avant.


Finally, I am very proud of our team here at Re: Sound who meets obstacles and knows how to overcome them, by discovering new possibilities to change the face of the world. Wind organized by employees raised $ 32,000 from funds for charity Unison.

Rester immobile n’est pas une option — nous devons poursuivre notre travail au nom des créateurs qui sont titulaires de ces droits.

– Ian MacKay

Ce que nous faisons

Ré:Sonne est la société à but non lucratif dédiée à obtenir une remuneration juste et équitable pour les artistes-interprètes et producteurs de disques pour leurs droits d'exécution. Chez Ré:Sonne, notre travail est de s'assurer que les créateurs de musique sont adéquatement rémunérés pour la valuer qu'ils apportent aux entreprises, y compris aux commerces de déail, aux restaurants, aux gyms et aux diffuseurs.

Nous deféndons les intérêts des créateurs de musique; nous éduquons les utilisateurs de musique; nous accordons des licences aux entreprises; et nous versons les redevances aux créateurs de musique – afin de contribuer à une industrie de la musique florissante et durable au Canada. Ceci s’étend sur quatre domaines de base*.

Ré:Sonne est aussi membre de la Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée (SCPCP), qui a été créée pour percevoir des redevances des copies privées auprès des fabricants et importateurs de supports d’enregistrement vierges.

*Quatre secteurs clés : 

  1. Défendre l'intérêt des créateurs de musique
  2. La distribution des redevances
  3. L'octroi de licenses aux entreprises qui utilisent de la musique
  4. Les partenariats internationaux

Notre organisation n’existerait pas sans les artistes et les créateurs de musique; ils sont au cœur de tout ce que nous faisons et nous inspirent à toujours accomplir plus.

Les valeurs fondamentales de Ré:Sonne

L’équité :

Nous défendons les intérêts des musiciens et  des producteurs de disques et leur assurons  un traitement juste et une rémunération  équitable. Nous offrons des services aux  détenteurs de droits sur une base juste  et égale. Nous veillons à traiter tous nos  employés équitablement.

L’efficience :

Nous nous efforcerons continuellement  de nous améliorer, de devenir plus  productifs et de parfaire nos méthodes.  Nous développerons nos propres pratiques  exemplaires et adopterons celles des tiers  qui nous conviennent — pour trouver la  meilleure façon de progresser.

Les artistes-interprètes et les producteurs comme point de mire :

Notre organisation n’existerait pas sans  les artistes-interprètes et les producteurs  de musique. Ils sont au coeur de toutes  nos activités et nous inspirent à accomplir  toujours plus de choses. Nous devons  toujours agir dans leur meilleur intérêt.

La transparence :

Nous serons toujours ouverts, honnêtes,  francs et dignes de confiance. Nous  informerons les parties intéressées  correctement et en temps utile. Nous nous  montrerons dignes de la confiance que les  titulaires de droits nous témoignent.

Le dynamisme :

Ce que nous faisons nous énergise. Nous  sommes déterminés. Nous sommes en  mouvement, plutôt que statiques ou figés.  Nous sommes flexibles. Nous nous adaptons  et nous progressons. Nous allons de l’avant.

Comment ça fonctionne? Visionnez notre nouvelle vidéo ici :

To play

To improve the visitor experience on our website, the site uses cookies. However, you do not have to accept any cookies to access or search our website. However, there may be minimal loss of functionality if you have disabled or deleted all cookies. Please consult your browser settings (and browser plugins) which allow you to configure whether and how you receive cookies. Read our Cookie Policy